Submissions for the 2020 Chautauqua Janus Prize are open!

The Chautauqua Janus Prize will be awarded for the third time this summer, celebrating an emerging writer’s single work of short fiction or nonfiction for daring formal and aesthetic innovations that upset and reorder readers’ imaginations. In addition to receiving a $5,000 award, the winner gives a lecture on the grounds during the summer season and appears in a forthcoming issue of the literary journal Chautauqua. Eligibility and submission information can be found on the CHQ website's Chautauqua Janus Prize page.

Named for Janus, the Roman god who looks to both the past and the future, the prize will honor writing with a command of craft that renovates our understandings of both. The prize is funded by a generous donation from Barbara and Twig Branch.

The guest judge is Hilary Plum. Plum will also be a prose writer-in-residence at Chautauqua Writers’ Center during the 2020 summer.

Related Titles:


Strawberry Fields (Fence Modern Prize in Prose) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781944380038
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Fence Books - April 3rd, 2018

Atlas of the Body Cover Image
ISBN: 9781625578754
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Black Lawrence Press - March 6th, 2018