The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) (Paperback)

The Accidental Apprentice (Wilderlore #1) Cover Image
$7.99
On Our Shelves Now
97 on hand, as of Jun 25 12:33pm
(CLSC YOUNG READERS)

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the Wilderlore series.


**A 2022 CLSC Young Readers Selection**

Description


A New York Times bestseller!

A boy who accidentally bonds with a magical Beast must set off on an adventure in the mysterious Woods in this “wholesome, delightful” (Kirkus Reviews, starred review), and cheeky middle grade fantasy debut—perfect for fans of Nevermoor and How to Train Your Dragon.

The last thing Barclay Thorne ever wanted was an adventure.

Thankfully, as an apprentice to the town’s mushroom farmer, Barclay need only work hard and follow the rules to one day become the head mushroom farmer himself. No danger required. But then Barclay accidentally breaks his town’s most sacred rule: never ever EVER stray into the Woods, for within the Woods lurk vicious magical Beasts.

To Barclay’s horror, he faces a fate far worse than being eaten: he unwittingly bonds with a Beast and is run out of town by an angry mob. Determined to break this bond and return home, Barclay journeys to find the mysterious town of Lore Keepers, people who have also bonded with Beasts and share their powers.

But after making new friends, entering a dangerous apprenticeship exam, and even facing the legendary Beast of the Woods, Barclay must make a difficult choice: return to the home and rules he’s always known, or embrace the adventure awaiting him.

This paperback edition includes a brand new, highly-illustrated map of the Woods.

About the Author


Amanda Foody is a New York Times and indie bestselling author of YA and children’s fantasy novels, including the Wilderlore series, the All of Us Villains duology, the Shadow Game series, and more. She lives in Massachusetts with her partner and their feline Beastly companion, Jelly Bean. Visit her at AmandaFoody.com or on Instagram @AmandaFoody.


Product Details
ISBN: 9781534477575
ISBN-10: 1534477578
Publisher: Margaret K. McElderry Books
Publication Date: February 1st, 2022
Pages: 320
Language: English
Series: Wilderlore