2022 Janus Prize Open for Submissions

Chautauqua Literary Arts is now accepting submissions for the 2022 Chautauqua Janus Prize! 

The Chautauqua Janus Prize will be awarded for the fifth time this summer, celebrating an emerging writer’s single work of short fiction or nonfiction for daring formal and aesthetic innovations that upset and reorder readers’ imaginations. In addition to receiving a $5,000 award, the winner gives a lecture on the grounds during the summer season and appears in a forthcoming issue of the literary journal Chautauqua. Eligibility and submission information can be found below under “Guidelines.”

Named for Janus, the Roman god who looks to both the past and the future, the prize will honor writing with a command of craft that renovates our understandings of both. The prize is funded by a generous donation from Barbara and Twig Branch.

The 2022 Guest Judge is Aisha Sabatini Sloan. Her essay collection, The Fluency of Light: Coming of Age in a Theater of Black and White was published by the University of Iowa Press in 2013. Her most recent essay collection, Dreaming of Ramadi in Detroit, was chosen by Maggie Nelson as the winner of the 1913 Open Prose Contest and published in 2017. That book went on to be nominated for the Iowa Essay Prize, and to win CLMP’s Firecracker award for Nonfiction. Kiese Laymon called the essays in the collection, “innovative, inspiring, sobering, and absolutely terrifying while daring every other essayist in the country to catch up.”

For more information, visit the Chautauqua Literary Arts webpage.

Borealis Cover Image
ISBN: 9781566896191
Availability: Not on our shelves; Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days
Published: Coffee House Press - November 2nd, 2021

The Fluency of Light: Coming of Age in a Theater of Black and White (Sightline Books) Cover Image
ISBN: 9781609381608
Availability: Not on our shelves; Usually Ships in 3-5 Business Days
Published: University Of Iowa Press - March 15th, 2013