2021 Week Five: The Authentic Comedic Voice

The Authentic Comedic Voice: A Week in Partnership with the National Comedy Center
July 24–31, 2021

The art of comedy is deeply personal, requiring artists and creators to tap into their own experience to hone a unique, resonant and authentic voice.  In this week, we examine how comedians working in an array of genres, media and styles have found their voices, developed their voices and mobilized their voices to communicate with audiences in impactful — and entertaining — ways.

“Revealing the lie at the heart of the American idea, however, occasions an opportunity to tell a different and a better story. It affords us a chance to excavate the past and to examine the ruins to find, or at least glimpse, what made us who we are."

Eddie S. Glaude Jr., Begin Again: James Baldwin's America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own, a 2021 CLSC Selection

Thursday, July 22nd @ 10:30 am - 11:45 am | Amphitheater & CHQ Assembly
CLSC Special Presentation: Begin Again and Shakespeare in a Divided America Thursday, July 22 4:00 pm | CHQ Assembly

Staff Pick Badge
Begin Again: James Baldwin's America and Its Urgent Lessons for Our Own Cover Image
Democracy in Black: How Race Still Enslaves the American Soul Cover Image
African American Religion (Very Short Introductions #397) Cover Image
Uncommon Faith: A Pragmatic Approach to the Study of African American Religion Cover Image

“What are the relative risks of ignoring scientific claims that turn out to be true versus acting on claims that turn out to be false?...

“...The risks of not flossing are real, but not inordinate. The risks of not acting on the scientific evidence of climate change are inordinate.”
Naomi Oreskes, Why Trust Science?

CLSC Presentation premiering at 3:30 p.m. ET Thursday, July 15, 2021 on CHQ Assembly.

Staff Pick Badge
Why Trust Science? (University Center for Human Values #1) Cover Image
Staff Pick Badge
Why Trust Science? (University Center for Human Values #1) Cover Image

"Rejecting such technologies as unnatural isn't going to bring nature back. The choice is not between what is and what was, but between what is and what will be, which, often enough, is nothing.”

Under a White Sky: The Nature of the Future by Elizabeth Kolbert
Tuesday, July 06, 2021 10:30am EDT | Amphitheater & CHQ Assembly

A limited number of signed bookplates are available.  Let us know in your order comments if you'd like one in your book!

Staff Pick Badge
Under a White Sky: The Nature of the Future Cover Image

2021 Chautauqua Prize Winner Announced

Chautauqua Institution has announced Having and Being Had (Riverhead Books) by Eula Biss as the 2021 winner of The Chautauqua Prize.

As author of the winning book, Biss receives $7,500, and will be presented with the Prize — and give a public reading — during a celebratory event set for 1 p.m. EDT Thursday, Aug. 5, 2021, on the digital CHQ Assembly platform.

Having just purchased her first home, in Having and Being Had the poet and essayist Eula Biss embarks on a provocative and delightful exploration of the value system she has bought into. Examining our assumptions about class and property and the lure of capitalism, Biss offers an uncommonly immersive and deeply revealing new portrait of work and luxury, of accumulation and consumption, of the value of time and how we spend it. Chautauqua Prize readers described Biss as “a provocative thinker who has constructed a book about possessions, economic systems, work, class, money that is lyrical in tone,” and whose writing “encourages us to sit and think in uncomfortable psychic spaces.” “The writing,” another reader wrote, “is simply terrific.”

“I’m tremendously grateful for this recognition of the thought and work that went into Having and Being Had,” Biss said. “This prize comes at a moment when I’m reimagining my work life, and it is particularly meaningful coming from an institution with such a long history of supporting artists who are pursuing their craft.”

Staff Pick Badge
Having and Being Had Cover Image

New CLSC Selection: Anxious People

Anxious People by Fredrik Backman
3:30 p.m. Thursday, July 29, 2021 | CHQ Assembly

A desperate man attempts and fails to rob a bank. After the police arrive, he flees and enters an apartment open house where he takes a diverse group of strangers hostage.

Each of the characters carries a lifetime of grievances, hurts, secrets, and passions that are ready to boil over. None of them is entirely who they appear to be. And all of them—the bank robber included—desperately crave some sort of rescue. As the authorities and the media surround the premises, these reluctant allies will reveal surprising truths about themselves and set in motion a chain of events so unexpected that even they can hardly explain what happens next.

The author of A Man Called Ove and My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s Sorry, Fredrik Backman’s new novel, Anxious People, is a confirmation of the storytelling prowess that made USA Today call him “a master of writing delightful, insightful, soulful, character-driven narratives.”

Fredrik Backman is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of A Man Called OveMy Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She’s SorryBritt-Marie Was HereBeartown, and Us Against You, as well as two novellas and one work of nonfiction. His books are published in more than forty countries. He lives in Stockholm, Sweden, with his wife and two children.

Staff Pick Badge
Anxious People: A Novel Cover Image