Chautauqua Prize Winners

2017 Chautauqua Prize Winner Announced

Chautauqua Institution is delighted to announce The Fortunes (Houghton Mifflin Harcourt) by Peter Ho Davies as the 2017 winner of The Chautauqua Prize.

chautauqua prize logoAs author of the winning book, Davies receives $7,500 and all travel and expenses for himself and his family for a one-week summer residency at Chautauqua from July 8 to 15, 2017. A public reading will take place at 3:30 p.m. Wednesday, July 12, on the Institution's grounds.

The Fortunes was one of six exceptional books that made up the 2017 finalists for The Chautauqua Prize.

Awarded annually since 2012, The Chautauqua Prize draws upon Chautauqua Institution’s considerable literary legacy to celebrate a book that provides a richly rewarding reading experience and to honor the author for a significant contribution to the literary arts.

Details on The Chautauqua Prize are available online. Books published in 2017 will be accepted as submissions for the 2018 Prize beginning in September 2017.

The Fortunes Cover Image
ISBN: 9780544263703
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin - September 6th, 2016

Off the Radar: A Father's Secret, a Mother's Heroism, and a Son's Quest Cover Image
ISBN: 9780399158506
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Blue Rider Press - March 24th, 2015

Redeployment Cover Image
ISBN: 9780143126829
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Penguin Books - February 24th, 2015

My Foreign Cities Cover Image
ISBN: 9780871407399
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Liveright Publishing Corporation - January 27th, 2014

Short Nights of the Shadow Catcher: The Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis Cover Image
ISBN: 9780544102767
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Mariner Books - August 6th, 2013

The Sojourn Cover Image
ISBN: 9781934137345
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Bellevue Literary Press - April 19th, 2011